• On campus: Shelby student on Belmont dean’s list

    Will Bradley Shuck made the dean’s list at Belmont University. He is a chemistry major and will be a senior. He had been a starter on defense at center back since the first game of his freshmen year on the soccer team. Students recognized on the dean’s list must carry a minimum 12-hour course load during the semester and achieve a quality-point average of 3.5 with no grade below C.

  • Local students help build Habitat for Humanity home in Louisville

    On July 14, Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer joined Habitat for Humanity of Metro Louisville at 2609 West Madison Street in the Russell neighborhood to celebrate construction of the organization's 377th home in the Louisville area.

    Local High school students from the Governor's Scholars Program constructed the home in four weeks. Established in 1983, the Governor's Scholars Program celebrated its 30th summer in Kentucky by partnering with Habitat for Humanity to build the home as a service project.

    Participating local students include:

  • Back to school schedule


    Aug. 7 – Opening day for staff

    Aug. 8 – First day for students

    Aug. 27 – First day for preschool

    Clear Creek

    Aug. 6 – Open house kindergarten through second grade, 5-5:45 p.m.

    Aug. 6 – Open House third grade through fifth grade, 6-6:45 p.m.

    East Middle

  • Acklin transfers to Simpsonville

    Artavia Marshall Acklin was at Southside Elementary as a student, as a teacher, as an instructional coach. Now she is leaving “home” to become assistant principal at Simpsonville Elementary and she is excited. A former Shelby County/ExCEL Teacher of the Year, Acklin has a strong literacy background. She led a workshop recently at Kentucky State University for secondary teachers to model the strong engagement components so familiar in an elementary setting. She said, “I have an intense love for curriculum and instruction.”

  • New assistant principal

  • Jones leaves classroom

    A 1988 graduate of Shelby County High School, Donna Jones knows what it is like to be the only African American in a class setting. A new assistant principal at Collins High School, Jones wants every student to know it is “cool to excel” and she wants parents to impress the importance of learning as well. The former eighth-grade social studies teacher talked about her plans to motivate students and encourage parents while students worked on Credit Recovery courses in the school library.

  • On campus: July 13, 2012

    Shelby residents graduate from NKU
    Northern Kentucky University has awarded the following Shelby County residents who have recently graduated: Melodie Amos, a middle grades education undergraduate degree; Sarah Domhoff, a studio arts undergraduate degree major; Sarah Domhoff, an anthropology undergraduate degree major; Brian Haller, a theater arts undergraduate degree major; Jessica Lane, an elementary education undergraduate degree major; Jennifer White, a studio arts undergraduate degree major; Jennifer White, a psychology undergraduate degree major.

  • Corpus Christi Academy open house

    Corpus Christi Academy (formerly Out Lady of Guadalupe Academy) will host an open house and family social at 2-5 p.m. July 29 at 7010 Shelbyville Road in Simpsonville for pre-K through 12th grade. Call 722-8090 for more information.

  • Corpus Christi Academy honor rolls

    Fourth grading period of the 2011-2012 school year:

    First Honors: Therese Bohnlein, Shelby Cooley, Paul Cozzens, Celestine Genuis, Theresa Jaminet, Gabriel Rock, Courtney Zoeller

    Second Honors: Elizabeth Dougherty, Bethany Griffin, Rianna Hawkins, Samantha Hosein, Veronica Jaminet, John Paul Poole, Elijah Rock, Rodrigo Rohlin, Isaac Waurio, Megan Zoeller, James Zoeller

  • Reading program reward winners

    A group of Shelby County girls were treated to a party at the Club Tabby at the Oxmoor Mall on July 6. The party titled “Where Reading and Girls Rock” was a reward for completing the Shelby County Library Summer Reading Program. The party was attended by (from left) Hannah Brown, Katherine Church, Bryce Berry and Brooke Berry.