Youth briefs: June 3, 2011

-A A +A

Distinguished singers; Samantha Gibson; Bryce Smithwick; Duke honors

By Sharon Warner

Distinguished singers

The Shelby County High School Shelby Singers and the Collins High School Titan Singers both received a distinguished rating at the KMEA State Festival on in May.

Gibson earns scholarship

Samantha Gibson of Pleasureville is among the recipients of a Kentucky Highway Industries scholarship. The total allocation of $59,750 will be distributed to the students during the 2011-2012 school year. Since 1998, $378,500 has been awarded to deserving students to help them achieve their education goals. She is the daughter of Carolyn Gibson and employed at the Kentucky Association of Highway Contractors in Frankfort. Samantha will be pursuing a degree in elementary education.


Horse winner

Bryce Smithwick of Simpsonville and his horse, Enchanting Evening, placed first in the 3-gaited amateur division in the Missouri Horse Shows Association (MHSA) Kick Off Show in Sedalia. He is a student at William Woods University.


Duke program honors 7th-graders

Seventh-graders from Shelby County Public Schools were singled out for ACT or SAT scores administered through the Duke University Talent Identification Program. Students who participate are honored because of their exceptional academic ability. There were 34 who took the test.

Luke Brown’s scores were high enough to receive State and Grand recognition, which means he was among 3 percent making that range who took the test. The national ceremony will be at Duke in North Carolina and he will be offered the chance to participate in a network of academic services and opportunities including an invitation to the Academy for Summer Studies.

State recognition honors students who represent about 36 percent of those who took the test.  East Middle students are Abby Betts, Luke Brown, Trenton Davis, Nolan Hughes, Cole Ivey, Eric Lewis, Cole Meredith, Jeron Russell and Emma Saarinen. West Middle students are Carter Baralt, Bennett Becherer, Carlos Gonzalez, Ryan Goodlett, Ryan Hunter, Joanna Jackson, Hannah Mattingly, Riley Morarity, and Ruthie Sangster. Others who participated were Harrison Baldwin, Taylor Crawford, Victoria Hargadon, Lindsey Hill, Brandon Hobbs, Haila Jackson, Logan Jones and Samuel Smith from East Middle Elementary; Kaitlyn Goodge, Morgan Kelly, Henry Mathis, Evan Miller, Jonathan Overstreet, Katelyn Rice and Zachery Roberts from West Middle Elementary.