Wiley falls in State Am quarterfinals

-A A +A
By Josh Cook

Shelbyville’s Candice Wiley lost in the quarterfinals of the 2014 Women’s Kentucky State Amateur golf tournament on Thursday.

Frankfort’s Abby Smith defeated Wiley 2 and 1 at Lakeside Golf Course in Lexington. Smith, a rising senior on the Xavier University women’s team, edged Wiley, the former high school state champion and Shelby County and University of Louisville graduate, who was shooting 2-under-par when she was beaten.

Wiley earned a spot in the quarterfinals by defeating Leah Rose Judd 4 and 3 in Wednesday’s Round of 16.  



SENIOR GOLF: Long falls in semifinals

Shelbyville’s Dennis Long fell in the semifinals of the 2014 KGA Senior Match Play Championship on Thursday morning.

Top-seeded, and defending champ, Bowling Green’s Steve Rogers defeated Long, the No. 12 seed, 7 and 5 in the final four match at Wildwood Country Club in Louisville. Louisville’s Rick Cain, the No. 2 seed, defeated No. 6 seed Scott Pottinger of Louisville 1-up in the other semifinal.

Long earned a spot in the semifinals by defeating Louisville’s David Pohlmann, the No. 13 seed, 3 and 2 in Wednesday’s quarterfinals.

In other action involving locals, Simpsonville’s Howard Logan forfeited his quarterfinal match in the 1st Flight on Wednesday.

Meanwhile Louisville’s Terry Barrickman, the No. 6 seed, defeated Waddy’s David Herrera, the No. 3 seed, 3 and 1 in the 3rd Flight quarterfinals Wednesday.



YOUTH GOLF: Thomas tied for 3rd in tourney

Shelbyville’s Madison Thomas sat in a three-way tie for third-place in the girls’ division after Thursday’s first round of the Kentucky Junior Golf Foundation’s Trusted Choice Big I State golf tournament.

Thomas carded a 5-over-par 76 on the Wildcat Course at the University Club of Kentucky in Lexington. The rising senior at Shelby County, who has committed to the University of Memphis, shot a 40-36 with a round that included one birdie, 12 pars, four bogeys and one double-bogey.

Meanwhile Simpsonville’s Sarah Son, a rising senior at Christian Academy of Louisville, was tied for 14th with a 14-over 85. Louisville’s Meredith Moir led the two-day tourney with a 2-over 73.

On the boys’ side, Shelbyville’s Brandon Sanner was tied for 26th after the first round. The recent Collins graduate, who is headed for Spalding University, carded an 8-over-par 79 with a 39-40 in a round that included one birdie, eight pars and nine bogeys.

Georgetown’s Billy Tom Sargent leads on the boys’ side with a 3-under 68.

FELTNER WINS IN PLAYOFF:Simpsonville’s Matthew Feltner, a recent Collins High School graduate, defeated Louisville’s Matthew Wilhite in a playoff to win the boys’ open division of the Kentucky PGA Junior event Wednesday at Weissinger Hills Golf Course.

Feltner, who has signed with Georgetown College, and Wilhite both carded 4-over-par 76s in the 18-hole round. Feltner shot 39-37 in his round, which included 15 pars, two bogeys and one double-bogey.

Shelbyville’s Kyle Cannon and Dakota Baatz finished third and fourth, respectively, with 82 and 87.

Meanwhile Simpsonville’s Jacob Feltner, Matthew’s younger brother, finished second in the boys’ 13-14-year-old division and Shelbyville’s Michael Long finished third in the boys’ 10 & under division.



YOUTH BASEBALL: Shelby County teams begin districts next week

The Shelby County Cal Ripken all-star baseball teams begin district tournament play next week.

Clear Creek Park will host the District 2 9- and 11-year-old tournaments. Games will be at 6 p.m. and 8 p.m. Monday night with a deciding game, if necessary, on Tuesday.  

Meanwhile Scott County will host the 10- and 12-year-old tournaments.

The rosters for the Shelby County 9-12-year-old teams are listed below:



Max Young, Michael Long, Joseph Blansett, Bryson Ethington, Bradley Ruble, John Nickell, Logan Parker, Malik Stoner, Elijah League, Daniel Elmore, Bradley Williams, Bladin Malone, Blake Shepard. Coach: Darin Young.



Will Birchfield, Aaron Thompson, Austin Thompson, Colby Fry, Logan Broughton, Wilson Raisor, Parker Presley, Trent Floden, Ryan Redmond, Chris Armstrong, Alex Cline, Dale Kirk, Camden Hughes, Jesse Cathey. Coach: Mike Birchfield.



Kalum Ronning, Clay Harris, Josh Moore, Sam Conley, Zack Houchin, Dylan Steinmiller, Trenton Burchfield, Andrew Donovan, Joe Lucas, Steven Ruddy, Colton Reese, Dawson Eden, Ethan Wilburn, Marshall Mowder. Coach: Brad Ronning.



Brandon Ethington, Joseph Becherer, Eric Ritchey, Lucas Hershberger, Chi Rankin, Bradley Drake, Marcellus Vail, Jake Davis, Anthony Anderson, Clark Donnell, J.P. Marcum, Alex Jacobs. Coach: Jack Canady.