Shelby schools part of group that earns federal Race to the Top funds

-A A +A

Shelby County Public Schools is one of 55 districts throughout 11 states that qualified for 2012 Race to the Top-District funding, the U.S. Department of Education announced on Tuesday.

The winning districts will share nearly $400 million, which will be used to support locally developed plans to personalize and deepen student learning, directly improve student achievement and educator effectiveness, close achievement gaps and prepare every student to succeed in college and careers, according to a U.S. Department of Education release.

The grantees will receive four-year awards that range from $10 million to $40 million, depending on the number of students served through the plan.

The winners were selected from among 372 applications, which were evaluated and scored by an independent peer review board.

“Districts have been hungry to drive reform at the local level, and now these winners can empower their school leaders to pursue innovative ideas where they have the greatest impact: in the classroom," U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan said in the news release. "The Race to the Top-District grantees have shown tremendous leadership though developing plans that will transform the learning environment and enable students to receive a personalized, world-class education."

SCPS was a member of the Green River Regional Educational Cooperative consortium, which also includes Adair County Schools, Campbellsville Independent Schools, Carroll County Schools, Caverna Independent Schools, Cloverport Independent Schools, Daviess County Schools, Green County Schools, Hart County Schools, Henry County Schools, Logan County Schools, Metcalfe County Schools, Monroe County Schools, Ohio Valley Educational Cooperative, Owen County Schools, Owensboro Independent Schools, Russell County Schools, Simpson County Schools, Spencer County Schools, Taylor County Schools, Trimble County Schools, Union County Schools and West Point Independent Schools.