Flurry of candidates file at the deadline

-A A +A

Rothenburger, Hardesty unopposed for primary

By The Staff

Tuesday was the last day to file for election for the May Primary, and numerous last-minute candidates filed their paperwork with the county clerk's office.


A huge slate of candidates already has entered the race for the U.S. Senate seat held by retiring Republican Jim Bunning, and U.S. Rep. Brett Guthrie (R-Bowling Green) picked up some competition for his seat in District 2, which includes Shelby County.

Six Republicans and five Democrats will vie for Bunning’s slot, and Democrat Ed Marksberry of Owensboro has filed to face Guthrie.

Democratic Senate candidates are Jack Buckmaster of Henderson, Jack Conway of Louisville, Daniel Mongiardo of Hazard, Darlene Price of Whitley City and Maurice Sweeney of Louisville.

The Republicans are Trey Grayson of Fort Mitchell, Bill Johnson of Elkton, Gurley L. Martin of Owensboro, Rand Paul of Bowling Green, Jon J. Scribner of Gray and John Stephenson of Fort Mitchell.

Tuesday at 4 p.m. was the deadline for candidates for the major parties to file for the primary on May 18. Independent and third-party candidates have until August to file.

State Sen. Gary Tapp (R-Shelbyville) is retiring in the 20th district, and there will be primaries in both parties to vie for that seat.

Democrats are David Eaton of Shelbyville, who is city administrator for Simpsonville and John Spainhour, a lawyer from Shepherdsville. Among the Republicans, Shelby County farmer Paul Hornback will face property appraiser David Glauber of Taylorsville.

State Rep. Brad Montell (R-Shelbyville) so far is unopposed in his effort to return to the 58th district.

And the same is true for several other key positions in Shelby County.

Judge-Executive Rob Rothenburger, Shelbyville Mayor Tom Hardesty, Shelby County Clerk Sue Carole Perry, County Attorney Hart Megibben and Jailer Bobby Waits and Magistrates Michael Riggs, Tony Carriss and Hubert Pollett are so far unopposed.

Incumbent magistrate Allen Ruble in District 3 is being challenged by businessman Bobby Andriot in the Republican primary, and Democratic magistrate Betty Curtsinger will square off against Democrat Eddie Kingsolver in May, repeating an election Curtsinger won narrowly in 2006.

Five people filed to run for the 4th District magistrate seat, after the announcement by incumbent Cordy Armstrong last week that he would not be seeking re-election after holding that seat for 25 years.

John Coleman Lewis (D), of Bagdad, Ken Franks (D) of Bagdad, Ray Gunn (D) of Shelbyville, and Mike F. Taylor (D) of Pleasureville will vie for that seat in May and the victor will face Bill L. Hedges (R) of Pleasureville in the November election.

Rounding out that race, incumbent Mike Whitehouse (D) has two challengers. He will face Harold Thomas Bryant (D) of Shelbyville in the Primary, and the victor will face Jeff Carman (R) of Finchville in the fall.

A key race will be for Shelby County Sheriff, in which incumbent Democrat Mike Armstrong won't have to run in the primary, but he will face Republican candidate and former Shelbyville Police Chief Stewart Shirley in the fall.

The race for the 53rd Judicial District in the 2nd Division will be between Donna Dutton of Shelbyville and Darby Smith of Simpsonville, who challenged her in 2006.

The non-partisan race for Shelbyville City Council finds nine people vying for six city council seats. All six incumbents will face three newcomers, Norris Beckley (D), Robert Burry (R) and Frank Page (R), all of Shelbyville. 

The incumbents are Donna Eaton (D), Alan Matthews (D), Shane Suttor (D), Mike Zoeller (D), and George Best (D).

In the race for constable, only Districts 3 and 6 are unchallenged, with incumbents Bobby Ivers (D) and Gary L. Tindle (D), respectively.

Three candidates are running up in District 1; two in District 2; two in District 4; four in District 5; and two in District 7.

Candidates for Simpsonville City Council and Pleasureville, as well as school board members, are not required to file until Aug. 10, because they sixth-class cities, said Shelby County Clerk Susan Curry.