Election 2014: Many incumbents sitting on go

-A A +A

Today is first official day to register for office

By Lisa King

Shelby County election officials say they expect today’s first formal day to file to run in 2014 to go pretty much as it has in the past, with many people already in office expected to file for re-election.


 “Only one person beside incumbents has picked up paperwork so far, but I expect many of our incumbents will be ready today,” Shelby County Clerk Sue Carole Perry said.

Some candidates have filed letters of intent to run – two in the 6th judicial appellate district and one for family court judge – but nothing is official until formal and final paperwork has been filed starting today.

Almost every major race is up for election next year, starting with U.S. Senate and Congress, through the state Senate and House, into the judicial districts for circuit, family court and district judges and into county and city offices. Shelby County School Board – two seats will come up next year – and Simpsonville City Commission are non-partisan races, and those candidates are not required to file for office until August.

Commonwealth Attorney Laura Donnell and Circuit Court Clerk Lowry Miller were elected to 6-year terms in 2012.

Both state Sen. Paul Hornback (R-Shelbyville) and state Rep. Brad Montell (R-Shelbyville) said that, although they plan to run in 2014, they probably wouldn’t file on the first day.

“I’ll be in the fields,” said Hornback, a farmer by trade who is completing his first term.

Montell, who will be seeking seventh term, said he plans to file later in the week. Both men have new districts after the year-delayed legislative reapportionment.

Among those expected to be first in line when the county clerk’s office opens at 8:30 a.m. is Shelby County Jailer Bobby Waits, a Democrat who would be seeking his fifth term.

“I always try to be the first one to file every year,” Waits said. “I just people to know I’m here; I don’t want to beat around the bush. This will be my fifth election, and I always do it the same way. I’m always the first one in there opening morning. It’s my way of saying that, from day one, I want people to know I’m in the race.”

Waits had opposition for his first two terms but ran unopposed in 2006 and 2010, as did Shelbyville Mayor Tom Hardesty, another official – a Democrat in his third term – who said he plans to file today.

“I’m not one to wait until the last minute,” Hardesty said. “I want people to know my true intentions. There’s always a lot of rumors going around at election time, and I try to put the rumors to bed as soon as I can.”

Perry said that many newcomers to the political scene do not file until they see which incumbents are going to run for the office they desire.

“That is a big factor,” she said. “Also they know they have until January twenty-eighth [to file for the primary in May].”

The lack of an incumbent was the reason there such a large slate of candidates vying for District 4 magistrate in 2010, when five Democrats and one Republican vied to replace longtime Magistrate Cordy Armstrong, who retired.


New district map

Because of the Legislature-approved redistricting following the 2012 census, half of Shelby’s 34 precincts have been realigned, but Perry said the changes wouldn’t affect the way that many people cast their votes.

“A lot of people will probably be voting in the same place; they’ll just be voting in a different magisterial district,” she said.

That new precinct map recently was completed. “We couldn’t do anything with our precinct maps until they [state officials] finished redistricting; our precincts were frozen until then,” Perry said.

Perry said that she could divulge the results of Shelby’s new precinct changes even though the Kentuckiana Regional Planning and Development Agency has not approved them officially.

“KIPDA is still working on our maps,” she said. “We have sent them to Frankfort, and they [the maps] have been up there twice. The second time, I said, ‘I’m only going to send these up these one more time.’”

Perry said the delay is “nitpicking” and that in both cases the map was returned unapproved because the name of a road did not match its written description.

Perry said that after the map was complete, the Shelby County Board of Elections met Oct. 2 to ensure that all boundaries were correct before submitting the map to state officials.


Precinct changes

The precinct realignment is the result of the magisterial redistricting, which takes place every 10 years, and was last done in 2010, receiving final approval in August 2011.

That effort to even out district boundaries because of population growth ended up with District 5 in Clay Village gaining 1,041 residents, followed by District 4 in Bagdad, which added 394, District 3 (503) and District 6 (571). District 2 (Simpsonville) and District 7 (Finchville) lost 1,210 and 1,213, respectively.

Eight precincts will have new names.

  • A103 Charleston, formerly Weissinger.
  • A105 Adams Station, formerly South East Shelby.
  • B104 Weissinger, formerly known as Seven Mile.
  • E104 Todds Point, formerly as West Shelby.
  • F101: Simpsonville, formerly known as South Simpsonville.
  • F102: South Simpsonville, formerly known as Todds Point.
  • F103: Garden Station, formerly known as North Simpsonville.
  • F104: Long Run, formerly known as Simpsonville.

Three precincts, A102 South Shelby, D103 Jail Hill, and G104 Shelbyville, simply added or subtracted some residents. One precinct, E101 Town and Country, gained all 689 voters from the previous E104. Two, C105 Osprey Cove, and E105 West Shelby, are newly created precincts from old ones.

Perry said that all residents who will have their voting precinct locations changed would receive notification in the mail.


Key dates for 2014 Election:

Primary Election Filing deadline:Jan. 28

Primary Election Voter registration deadline:April 21

Deadline to change party affiliation:Dec. 31, 2013

Primary Election Day:May 20, 2014

Deadline to file for non-partisan races: August 12

Election Day: Nov. 4


2014 Elections

Primary: May 20

General Election: Nov. 4

There are 26 local and statewide elections this year; the races with some incumbents are noted.

U.S. Senator: Mitch McConnell (R)

U.S. House District 4: Thomas Massie (R)

State Senate: Paul Hornback (R)

State House: Brad Montell (R)

State Supreme Court

Appellate District 6: Allison Jones

Circuit Judge: Charles Hickman

Family Court Judge: John David Myles

District Judge: Linda Armstrong, Donna Dutton

Shelby County Judge-Executive: Rob Rothenburger (R)

Shelby County Fiscal Court: District 1, Hubert Pollett (D), District 2 Michael Riggs (R), District 3, Allen Ruble (R), District 4, Bill Hedges (R), District 5, Eddie Kingsolver (D), District 6, Tony Carriss (D), District 7, Mike Whitehouse (D).

Shelby County Clerk: Sue Carole Perry (D)

Shelby County Attorney: Hart Megibben (R)

Shelby County Sheriff: Mike Armstrong (D)

Shelby County Jailer: Bobby Waits (D)

Shelby County Coroner: Ron Waldridge Jr. (R)

Shelbyville Mayor: Tom Hardesty (D)

Shelbyville City Council: Bob Andriot (R), Donna Eaton (D), Frank Page (R), Shane Suttor (D), Jon Swindler (R), Mike Zoeller (D).

Simpsonville Mayor: Steve Eden

Simpsonville City Commission: Sharon Cumming, Michael Hesse, Cary Vowels, Vicky Wise

School Board (2 districts): Doug Butler, Eddie Mathis

Soil Conservation Board (some races)


Judicial commission, school board races are non-partisan