- Special Sections
- Public Notices
A Shelby County man has been indicted on charges he sexually abused a 6-year-old child at his home.
Anthony Watkins, 37, of Waddy is charged with four counts of first-degree sexual abuse for encounters with girl he admitted took place between July and November of last year.
First degree sexual abuse is a Class C felony, punishable by a sentence of 5-10 years in prison.
The Shelby County Sheriff's Office's arrest report says that Watkins admitted that touched the child in her genital area while she visited his home at 588 McCormick Lane.
The child also told deputies that there were four incidents of a sexual nature.
The arrest report lists Watkins as single and does not designate his relationship to the child.
He is a contractor for Lucas Tallman, who also is listed at the same address as Watkins'.
Watkins was arrested Nov. 8, according to jail records, and is lodged in the Shelby County Detention Center under a $50,000 full cash bond. His next court date is Wednesday.
Shelby County Commonwealth's Attorney Laura Donnell said that if convicted, Watkins, like all convicted sex offenders, would be ordered by the court to undergo therapy.
"If a person is found guilty of a sexual offense, the court requires them to have sex offender treatment," she said. "They have to complete it."
Donnell added that like other types of therapy or rehabilitation, some people are helped and some are not.
"Some people respond to it," she said. "We always hope it will help, and with some people it will, and some, it won't."
Donnell, who served as assistant commonwealth's attorney in Jefferson County before coming to Shelby County, said that though Shelby County has its fair share of sex offenders, she couldn't say that there are more here than elsewhere in the state.
"Sexual abusers are everywhere," she said. "No county is immune."
According to KRS 510.110, there are four criteria for sexually abusive behavior in the first-degree.
• Subjecting another person to sexual contact by forcible compulsion
• Subjecting another person to sexual contact who is incapable of consent because he or she is either physically helpless, is less than 12 years old, or is mentally incapacitated
• When a person 21 years old or more subjects another person less than 16 years old to sexual contact or engages in masturbation in their presence
• When a person in a position of authority or position of special trust, regardless of age, subjects a minor less than 18 to sexual contact or masturbation either in person or by phone or Internet.
First-degree sexual abuse is Class D felony, unless the victim is 12 years old or younger, in which case it becomes a Class C felony.
Sexual offenses were incorporated into the Kentucky Revised Statutes in 1975, and amended many times since then, the last time in July 2008.
Those people who are convicted of a sexually-related charge are put on the Kentucky State Police's list of registered sex offenders. This list can be accessed at www.kentuckystatepolice.org and clicking on Sex Offender Registry.
The registry can be accessed by typing in the person's name and county, or can viewed in its entirety.
The type of sexual offense committed by the person is also included.
Watkins' name does not currently appear on the registry.