EARLIER: Anderson wins Pflughaupt, Doyle scholarships

-A A +A
By Walt Reichert

Shelby County High School seniors got their way through college paved with hundreds of thousands of dollars in scholarship money given out at the school's awards ceremony at First Baptist Church on Tuesday.


Lindsey Anderson captured two of the night's biggest awards: the $20,000 Eugene and Margery Pflughaupt scholarship award and the $5,000 Rannie Doyle Memorial scholarship.

Anderson, the daughter of Deborah and Steve Anderson, will add those awards to a scholarship she has signed to swim at Transylvania University. Anderson swam for the Rockets' team for four years and was this year's captain.

She is president of Future Business Leaders of America and a member of Beta and Interact clubs. She plans to study politics at Transylvania and hopes someday to become a lawyer.

The Shelbyville Kiwanis and Rotary clubs sponsor a scholarship to Best All-Around Male and Best All-Around Female students from the graduating class. Mark Smith, representing Rotary, gave the Best All-Around Male award to Nick Hamblen, the son of Donna and Russ Hamblen. He played baseball for three years and was this year's team captain.

Ross Webb, representing Kiwanis, gave Landri Tripp the award for Best All-Around Female student. Tripp, the daughter of Beth and Phil Tripp, is president of the school's Beta Club and co-president of the student YMCA. She plans to attend Furman University in South Carolina.

The student who drew a standing ovation from the crowd was Nathan Bohannon, who earned two perfect-attendance awards, one from the school and one from the AFL Partner in Education. Bohannon did not miss a day of school in his entire 12 years.

SCHS Awards Night


Best All -- Around Female -- Landri Tripp

Best All -- Around Male -- Nick Hamblen

Perfect Attendance -- Nathan Bohannon, 12 years; Kayla Pilcher, 9 years; Lucy Dempsey, Jennifer Howell, Heric Matlala, Shana Miller, Juan Miranda and Jessica Yount, 1 year each.

DAR Citizenship -- Haley Shepherd

Female Athlete of the Year -- Haleigh LeCompte

Male Athlete of the Year -- Jarred Clarkson

Student School Board Member -- T J Kelly

Distinguished Writing Portfolios -- Mary Burks, Danielle Kleymeyer, Baxter Matthews, Zachary Poehlein and Matthew Spencer

The King's Daughters & Sons/Fiscal Court, Inc. -- Desiree Rice, Erica Skinner

Shelby County Cattlemen's Association -- Austin White

Obsideo in Futuro -- Kyle Abbott, Eli Wilborn

Wendy Phillips Memorial -- Kayla Pilcher

Pollett Memorial -- Drew McDonald

Church of the Annunciation Men's Club -- Chris Lambert, Monica Hernandez

Shelby County Chamber of Commerce -- Jasmine Hinkle, Austin White, Chris Lambert

Commonwealth Bank Student Star -- Kelsi Shipley

Shelbyville Board of Realtors -- Cody Bland

Robert Samples Memorial -- Courtney Johannes, Ryan Allen

Shelby County U of K Alumni -- Steven Hornung

Shelby County Farm Bureau -- Devan Brooks, Tiffany Chappell, Kelly Samples

First Baptist Church -- Nick Cain, Ethan Farabee

Max Performance -- Courtney Johannes

Brooke Warford Memorial/Highland Baptist Church -- Sarah Haven, Haleigh LeCompte, Haley Shepherd, Bart Triplett

Business and Professional Woman's Club -- Kelly Samples

Shelbyville Metro FOP Lodge No. 51 -- Catie Clark

Shelbyville Rotary Club -- T J Kelly, Kelly Samples, Brittany Spath, Angela Thomas, Anna Whitlow, Belen Zamudio Gilbert

Kiwanis Club -- Tiffany Chappell, Brittany Spath

Moose Lodge -- Erica Skinner

Shelby County Conservation District -- Catie Clark, Austin White

Alex Bowersox Memorial -- Candice Wiley

Shelby County Lincoln Alumni -- Makayla Wooten

Shelby County Ministerial Coalition -- ChaRhonda Manica

Shelby County Women's Club -- Shannon Lewis, Brittany Spath

Shelbyville Police -- Catie Clark

Salem Baptist Church -- Kyle Abbott, Austin White

Vanissa Waford Memorial -- Kelly Samples

Shelby County Democratic Women's Club -- Anne Bowersox

Norton Healthcare -- Grace Karem

Ben Patrick Memorial -- Kyle Abbott

Dogwood Drummers/Wild Turkey Federation -- Leslie Bryant

Susanne de Charette Van Stockum -- Nick Hamblen

Jane Martin Drama -- Sara Lauer

Shelby County Education Association -- Devan Brooks, Jackie Orange

Harriet Poynter Academic Student -- Angela Thomas

Harriet Poynter Musician -- Haley Shepherd

Shelby Energy -- Anna Whitlow

SCHS Beta Club -- Drake Hyman, Landri Tripp

National Beta -- Landri Tripp

UAW No. 2383 -- Jarred Clarkson, Brett Gordon, Jennifer Howell, Megan White

A B Case Memorial -- Drew McDonald

Jane Meyer Memorial -- Catherine Laswell, Kellie Washburn

Graefenburg Baptist Church/Grady Nutt Memorial -- Chase Roberts

Civic Clubs -- Caitlen Driver, Josh Newton

Weissinger Hills -- Candice Wiley

Shelbyville High School Class of 1958 -- Kyle Abbott, Paige Radcliff

National Honor Society -- Anne Bowersox, Noel Osborn, Kayla Pilcher

ADK Sorority/Susan Fields -- Kelsi Shipley, Angela Thomas

ADK Sorority/Eleanor Busey -- Jessica Yount

Language Arts -- Landri Tripp

Simpsonville Christian Church/Susan Fields -- Hannah Smith

Ernest Jennings Memorial -- Kyle Abbott

Brig. Gen. R.R. Van Stockum U S Marine Corps (Ret) -- Jordan Smeaton

Marine Corps League Kentuckiana Det.729 -- Erik Augustine

MCJROTC Booster Club -- Josh Rucker

VFW Post 1179 -- Jordan Smeaton

Rannie Doyle Memorial -- Lindsey Anderson

Eugene and Margery Ames Pflughaupt -- Lindsey Anderson