2000 girls team, Zimmerman honored

-A A +A
By Laura Clark



Friday was a night to honor contributors to the success stories in Shelby County High School girls basketball.

Members of the Lady Rockets 2000 squad, the state runner-up, were honored with lifetime passes to Shelby County games, their jersey from their season and a DVD of the championship game.

In that championship game that year, the Lady Rockets fell, 58-50, to West Carter. They finished the season with a 30-6 record.

The team members were Samantha Newton, Taneisha Johnson, Lindsey Haydon, Kim Barnett, Megan Hobson, Davida Evans, Emily Anglin, Ashley Goodlett, Toni Slaughter, Dana Crittendon, Brittany Morrison, Anna Watts, Charlotte Marshall, Carrie Kerchner and LeNita White.

The coaches were Jim Wright, Lisa Newton, Paul Smith, Kelly Cable and Dana Smith.

Also honored was former girls coach and current SCHS Athletic Director Sally Zimmerman, who was given a Shelby County jersey.

“Coach Z" was the Lady Rockets’ head coach from 2002-2009, winning six district titles and three regional championships.  She finished her coaching career with an overall winning record of 149-66.

During that time, she was named KABC Region 8 Coach of the Year for 2003, 2005, 2006, and 2008, 8th Region Coach of the Year in 2005, was assistant Kentucky All-Star Coach in 2007 and head coach in 2008, leading her team to a sweep of Indiana.